SYEP Spotlight: Demetrius Simms

DCCAH’s Media Arts Camp through the Mayor’s Summer Youth Employment Program has gotten off to a great start! We’ll be spotlighting stories on each of our youth as they share their experiences at various media arts outlets throughout DC.

First, we hear from Demetrius Simms, a current intern at BET.

Three years ago, I began working as a summer youth employee and by luck, my first job assignment was to work at the DC Commission on the Arts [and Humanities]. Back then, I knew little about office work and while I had an idea of what it meant to be busy, I fully understood the term for each summer I worked the Commission. Given tasks to help with filing, run errands, answer phones, and assist coworkers, I realized more and more how the professional skills I learned inside the office could be utilized to help me in the future. I used to be tired of working that way on a daily basis but like i said I was not fully looking at the big picture.

Now, I feel as though I am existing in the big picture I should have imagined for myself back then. I am entering my sophomore year of college at Delaware State University and the experience at school has helped me understand all the more how important it is to be a professional yet show personality in everything that I do. Some students, had no clue how to used copy machines or how to dress appropriately to their jobs, but I on the other hand had learned about those few specifics among other things by working at the Commission and working as a Summer Youth Employee.

Now I intern in the interactive department at BET Networks working with BET.com on the lifestyle section. Thanks to the help of the DC Commission on the Arts [and Humanities] as well as my resume, I have been selected to work with other on a specific topic and help others find an interest in it as well. I will be writing about men’s fashion and style but I also hope to write other pieces as well pertaining to us humans opposed to artificial things. I feel like I have come a long way from the person I used to be professionally and individually. I hope to move forward in my life building lasting connections with others and through hard work.

About Art(202)

Since 1968, the District of Columbia Commission on the Arts and Humanities (DCCAH) has developed and promoted local artists, organizations and activities.
This entry was posted in SYEP and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

